About the Award

The Duke of Edinburgh's International Award

Who can take part in the Award?

The Award is available to all young people aged 14 to 24. It is voluntary, non-competitive, enjoyable and balanced, and requires sustained effort over time. The Award encourages young people to design their own programme of activities, set their own goals and challenge themselves to achieve their aims.

What is involved?

There are three levels to the Award:



For those over 14 years.
6 months minimum participation.



For those over 15 years.
 12 months minimum participation.



For those over 16 years.
 18 months minimum participation.

Each level of the Award has four sections:


Participants volunteer in their communities, make a positive contribution to society and demonstrate social responsibility.


More about Service

Physical Recreation

Encourages young people to
improve their fitness and performance, and enjoy healthy lifestyles for good mental and physical well-being.


More about Physical Recreation


Enables participants to develop their talents, broaden their abilities, increase their self-confidence and improve their employability.


More about Skills

Adventurous Journey

Young people discover a spirit of adventure and gain a deeper understanding of the environment and the great outdoors.


More about Adventurous Journey

Residential Project

Participants broaden their experience by staying in an unfamiliar environment with other people, taking part in a worthwhile project and building new relationships.

Gold level only


More about Residential Project

What next?

To find out more about the Award and its impact, or to get involved, please contact us or connect with us by social media.

All the information on this page has come from The Duke of Edinburgh's International Award's website and flyer.